HERstory-Coming Out of the Shadows to Tell Our Story

 

Art Work: Women of Soul by Glenn Daniels We are a Sisterhood as we go though this journey together.

Art Work: Women of Soul by Glenn Daniels
We are a Sisterhood as we go though this journey together.

 

Its encouraging to find now that I’m not alone. I’ve always known I’m not alone in fighting fibroids and infertility, but recently I’ve seen more Black women sharing their stories. The lack of discussion and transparency in the Black community inspired me to start this blog. I knew several women my age and older that have gone through this, but no one talked about it or used it as a testimony. Now I slowly see more and more Black women speaking up on this issue, and I love it!

Yesterday, I was inspired by a woman named Gessie Thompson. In the May issue of Essence magazine, she shares her story. I had the good fortune to hear her as a guest on a radio show as I drove home. She was so passionate, and so joyful and showed so much faith. Please read her story at Essence.com  here

 

Her story is my story. Even though I’m only one myomectomy, 2  HSGs, 3 ultrasounds, and  1 hysteroscopy in, this woman gives me hope. Even in this early part of my journey, I see the mountain that is ahead of me, and I get overwhelmed. It may sound crazy, but I’ve seen my baby. I know what the name will be. More importantly, I am open enough to understand that I may not give birth to my baby at the end of this journey, but I will have one. They will be loved, and healthy, and beautiful.  God promised this to me. That doesn’t make this journey any less frustrating, stressful or painful while I’m in it.

It’s easy to think that getting pregnant is just a matter of having sex on the right day at the right time (and often 😉 ).  But there are so many women, especially Black women, who have trouble conceiving usually because of uterine fibroids,  the damage they cause, and the subsequent surgery (or surgeries) to have them removed. There is a tremendous physical, emotional, and monetary cost to infertility that can potentially break you as a woman, break up your marriage, and stress your family. Many insurance plans do not cover IVF and other fertility treatments. There are some states, like New Jersey, Ohio, and Hawaii, that mandate  infertility treatments are covered under insurance plans, but there are only 15 states these types of  policy. This trouble with fibroids is real.  80% of percent of Black women will suffer with fibroids at some time in their life. Because fibroids are generally benign in regards to cancer, many people  do not understand how serious they can be. Fibroids can not only cause problems with fertility and menstrual cycles, but as they grow and the uterus expands and distorts, they can cause other problems with digestion, back pain, kidney, and bladder function. This problem is serious and we need to do more.

 

I am now more determined and inspired than ever to continue this blog and do even more to be an advocate and educate on fibroids and infertility.

 

In addition to Gessie Thompson’s story, Essence ran a wonderful education piece about fibroids:

Essence: Fighting Fibroids

To learn more about Gessie Thompson, her story, and the work she is doing (including a prayer circle. I love that idea!), please visit her website, www.whatsyournia.com

Please click here for a list of states that  currently have laws requiring insurance coverage for infertility treatment.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Info Share and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to HERstory-Coming Out of the Shadows to Tell Our Story

  1. melbowman says:

    Reblogged this on Our Hystories and commented:
    There are so many issues around hysterectomies, fibroids, endometriosis, etc that get very little ‘press time’ but are very important issues nonetheless. Here’s one more voice in one of those conversations that need to be happening more often.

    Like

    • maybemama14 says:

      Thank you for re blogging this!
      I just started this blog about a month ago, so any feedback, re blogging, etc is welcomed. 🙂

      We need to speak up and make our stories known together!

      Best Wishes!

      Like

      • Hi Maybemama14!

        Thank you so much for sharing our story and your encouraging words. I invite you to join us for our next “Circle of Hope” Prayer call this Sunday at 7 am EDT (this is a special one to support women believing for children on a day when mothers are celebrated boldly).

        When I felt like giving up, the prayers of our support network encouraged me and together we warred for my baby! We’re here to support you in the same way.

        Sign up at http://www.gessiethompson.com and spread the word with anyone you feel needs to join us!

        Your sister in the journey,
        Gessie

        Like

        • maybemama14 says:

          Thank you so much for coming to my blog and commenting.

          I will be signing up for the Sunday call and will pass the word to a few friends.

          Best wishes and god Bless!

          Like

    • Hi Melbowman!

      Thank you so much for reblogging my story on Our Hystories. I invite you to also encourage women with stories of miracle babies to submit their stories for considered inclusion in my book “HOPE BEYOND FIBROIDS: Stories of Miracle Babies and the Journey to Motherhood.” They can submit at http://www.gessiethompson.com and also preorder the book. A portion of the proceeds from “HOPE BEYOND FIBROIDS” will benefit The White Dress Project–an organization dedicated to fund research an awareness for uterine fibroids. Learn more at http://www.gessiethompson.com.

      Also, for anyone currently fighting infertility issues, we invite them to join us for our next “Circle of Hope” Prayer call this Sunday at 7 am EDT (this is a special one to support women believing for children on a day when mothers are celebrated boldly).

      When I felt like giving up, the prayers of our support network encouraged me and together we warred for my baby! We’re here to support them in the same way.

      Sign up at http://www.gessiethompson.com and spread the word with anyone you feel needs to join us!

      Your sister in the journey,
      Gessie

      Like

  2. Stepdisney says:

    YAY! Love your blog. When I went through my IVF cycles, I held it close to me. I did not have anyone to share it with. Your blog is a blessing. Stay encouraged. Continue to share your journey. I, share my testimony with so many women (as you know) so documenting your journey makes it easy to share with so many who are going through. Stay positive, I’m a witness that there IS a baby at the end of your journey.

    Like

  3. emeamana says:

    Reblogged this on Mothers And Maidens Aloud and commented:
    Wow! Different strokes for different people.
    I have a friend who has gone on to have three (3) children with the fibroid, only thing is, with each pregnancy, the tumor gets bigger; her gynecologist has advised she removes them surgically, but she declined…
    Kudos to Maybe Mama for sharing your story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

